The one accident that I am glad that happened!

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Recently I have been thinking abouthow to make original recipes. I have been researching which ingredients goes with each other and came up with my own twist! I was planning on making a white vanilla cake last night with all my ingredients put together but to my surprise it turned out differently from what I expected. Although the cake didn’t turn out like the white cake I wanted, it still tasted very good and moist! I couldn’t pin point the exact taste because to me it tasted between a mixture of sweet bread and yellow cake. Today I took portion of my cake to church and had my sunday school kids (I am a sunday school teacher) try it and tell me what they think it is. To my surprise they said the same thing! A cake and sweet bread mixed together! So after consulting with my sister I decided to name it Sweet Cake Bread because it doesn’t taste fully like a white cake but it doesn’t taste fully like bread either. This cake taste like a mixture of both and let me tell you, I am glad that my accident turned into this cake! I decided that the best filing that would go with this kinda of cake would be apple butter (the kind from Lucille’s BBQ). I rushed to Lucille’s and picked up a pint of their amazing apple butter and put this cake together. It tasted so good that I had to look away to not eat anymore!!! (It is definitely not the healthiest cake I have made, but it is SOOO GOOD). This is definitely a good cake for small parties or get togethers (You can also make mini cakes out of this).

SWEET CAKE BREAD

Pre- Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350F

Prepare two 8 inch pans

Ingredients for the Cake:

3 Cups of flour

3 teaspoons Baking Powder

1/2 Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Sea Salt

2 Cups of Granulated Sugar

1 Large Whole Brown Egg (I use cage free or organic)

3 Egg Yolk

1 Cup Lukewarm Milk (I use organic 1% or 0%)

3/4 Sunflower Oil

1 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

1 Cup Hot Water

Ingredients for the Filling:

Apple Butter (from Lucille’s BBQ; if not available you can use regular apple butter)

Directions for the Cake

1.) Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl.

2.) In a separate bowl, beat the sugar and eggs one at a time.

3.) Add the oil, then add a portion of the milk then a portion of the flour alternating between the flour and milk and end with the flour (always).

4.) Stir in the vanilla extract then stir in the water (place at least 1/2 cup of the water and feel for the kind of consistency you would like, if the cake batter is still to thick for you add the whole 1 cup of warm water).

5.) Place the mixture in the prepared pans and then place in the oven for about 30 minutes. (*Check on the cake as it turns golden brown and place a toothpick to see if it is finished or not).

6.) Allow the cake to cool at least 1 hour on cooling racks then place the apple butter on the cake.

*Can top the cake with cinnamon or apples. Be creative!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

