Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Whipped Cream

cake

I just love this holiday season, especially the baking! I love how the christmas lights on my tree are dimly lit while I bake through the day and night,  while Christmas music plays in the background.

It is also a special time for me because this is the first post to my first blog ever! I am very excited to start blogging and sharing details about my work as a baker. With the newest post I wanted to share this wonderful chocolate cake that I recently made.

Yesterday, we celebrated my cousin Tania and her future baby boy (from Romania) at my home. It was my first time hosting a baby shower and definitely not my last! It was also a privilege to celebrate Tania because she is an amazing woman and mother to her children, and she has never had a baby shower! So this was her first one and my family and I wanted to make it special.

food

cake4

cake2

To celebrate Tania I made a yummy chocolate MOIST cake with a hazelnut whipped cream filling & frosting topped with sugar covered berries. Let me tell you that this cake was AMAZING and so MOIST! Definitely a cake that chocolate lovers should make.

CHOCOLATE CAKE WITH HAZELNUT WHIPPED CREAM

Getting Prepared:

Preheat the oven to 350F and prepare your cake pans with parchment paper and sprayed with pam.

Ingredients for the cake:

-2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

– 1 cup brown sugar & 1 cup white sugar

-3/4 cup cocoa (I used Giradeli’s sweet cocoa powder)

-2 tsp baking powder

-1 1/2 tsp baking soda

-1 tsp salt

-1 cup milk

-2 eggs (room temperature)

-2 tbsp pure vanilla extract (madagascar brand)

-1 cup hot coffee

Ingredients for the filling

-2 cups heavy whipped cream that is finished (whipped with 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar) (do not use store bought make fresh)

-2 tbsp Brigantina Hazelnut Cream Spread

Directions for the Cake

1.) In a large bowl sift the flour, sugars, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt and whisk together till mixture is combined.

2.) The milk should be added first until mixed then the oil and eggs one at a time, along with the vanilla extract.

3.)After the mixture is combined add the coffee and beat for one minute on high speed to add air to the batter.

4.) Bake for 30 min (until a toothpick comes out clean)

Directions for the Filling and Frosting:

1.) Mixed together the heavy whipped cream with 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Once the cream is ready fold in the hazelnut cream until mixed well. Keep refrigerated until use and take it out about 5 min before use.

Adapted from: Best Chocolate Cake Recipe {Ever} by addapinch

Leave a Reply

